Blog Tour · Reviews

“Someone Who Isn’t Me” Review

Hello Friends!

Tonight I bring you a review of a sequel of a book I previous read and review (you can find the review HERE).

Someone Who Isn’t Me“, written by Danuta Kot, is a Mystery novel, published on April 1st 2021 by Simon & Schuster UK.

I want to thank Zoé, at Zooloo’s Book Tours, and Danuta Kot for the eCopy of this book. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.


Synopsis

Someone Who Isn't Me: THE GRIPPING NEW NOVEL FROM THE DAGGER-AWARD WINNING AUTHOR by [Danuta Kot]

When everyone hides the truth, who do you turn to?

Becca’s had a hard time of it, but she has finally got her life together. She has a nice little flat, a steady job pulling pints, and she’s even seeing someone new: Andy, who keeps his private life to himself but is always good for a laugh. And then Andy vanishes. When his body turns up on isolated Sunk Island, Becca learns Andy wasn’t just another punter. He was a police officer, deep undercover, investigating a drugs ring that he believed operated out of Becca’s pub.

Staggered by the betrayal, Becca turns to the only person she thinks she can trust: her foster mum, Kay. But Kay has problems of her own. She’s just moved into a short-term let in the hopes of finding some peace and quiet. But peace and quiet are hard to come by on Sunk Island . . .

Before long, both women are drawn into a terrifying world of drugs, money and death.

The gripping new novel from Dagger-Award-winning author Danuta Kot, perfect for fans of Ann Cleeves, Tana French and Denise Mina – a story about the people we are… and the people we aren’t.

Purchase Links: Amazon


About the Author

Danuta Kot (who also writes as Danuta Reah and as Carla Banks) grew up with stories. Her Irish mother and her Polish father kept their own cultures alive with traditional tales they shared with their children. For many years, she worked with young people in Yorkshire who were growing up in the aftermath of sudden industrial decline. She uses this background in her books to explore some of the issues that confront modern, urban society: poverty, alienation and social breakdown, using the contexts of the modern crime novel. She now works as a senior education consultant, work that involves travel to establish education and training in other parts of the world. She is a regular academic speaker at conferences and literary festivals and has appeared on radio and television.

Social Media Links: Website | Facebook | Twitter


My Review

“Someone Who Isn’t Me” follows the characters we are introduced to in “Life Ruins”. We go back to a setting that felt real to me – a Portuguese woman that has only been to 4 countries outside her own (Spain, France, Germany and Switzerland) – as if I have been there and met the people an seen all the sights. And we are taken into a journey of mystery, drama, tension and uncovering the truth.

We follow Becca’s life again, and I loved that, but we also get to see the point of view of other characters, which made it possible for me to understand what was happening, coming up with theories (Who can resist doing that in a mystery/crime novel?), and understand the characters mind and their choices.

I’m not going to go into details because I’m always scared of revealing some important plot moments. Nevertheless, it was enjoyable, and it hit the right spots for me in terms of the story and with each page I was intrigued by the characters. Although I was on the fence about some of them, I still liked the way things went and the answers to my questions.

Overall, I was a good book filled with tension, danger, personal agendas, mysteries and character and relationship growth.


Don’t forget to check out all the other bloggers that given their contribute in this Blog Tour, with their reviews.


Don’t forget to comment, don’t be stranger. If you have any book recommendation you can leave a message using the form on my Contact Me page.

If you are an author or publisher and want me to do a review of a book please check out my Request Review page to learn more about the reviewing policies.

I always welcome new books to add to my list and I’m always excited to do reviews and read books. And I’m open to debate and exchange opinions, so let’s talk.

Also, if you would like to join me as a guest on my blog, check out the Guests Post page to know more and contact me so we can start planing your visit.

Love,

Jess

One thought on ““Someone Who Isn’t Me” Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s